31 days of a meaningful summer

It has been so long since I posted.  With my job, the months of March-June are a blur.  It is SOL testing season, end of the year wrap up, and I am unfortunately blessed to be one of the go-to individuals at the heart of it all.  This time of year I normally barely sleep, eat poorly, and basically can’t relax enough to fully enjoy what is going on during the weekends and times when I am not a work.

The good thing however, is that today was my last day of work before summer vacation.  I get to sing my “I don’t have to go to school tomorrow” song until my kids get sick of it.  So I have 31 days off = 31 days to freely do something meaningful with my time as I choose.  This is one of the most precious benefits of working in a school.  Outsiders laugh at home “us teachers” only work 10 months out of the year (I actually work 11 by contract!), but I think they are just jealous.  It is amazing to hear what my colleagues did when we all get back together in August.  Teachers do amazing things during the summer.  Imagine a sabbitical opportunity once a year for 2 months. 

So I am going to challenge myself and attempt to do 31 blog posts for the next 31 days.  I guess it will be a little journal of how I’m trying to achieve a meaningful summer.  Hope something transformative comes out of this.  Normally I just clean the house every day.  Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

