Peeing on concrete, dogs that won’t walk on grass, and other notable D.C. memories.

DSCN0056I just came back from a trip to Washington D.C. for the National Educational Computing Conference (NECC) 2009.  You can read about all the awesome things I learned on my educational blog.  I’ve also posted a few pics on Flickr.  I hadn’t been to D.C. since college.  So this was my first time as an adult to experience the city.  Here are some notable memories:

Peeing on concrete:  My welcome to the city was seeing a young gentleman pulled over in a very dangerous spot in I-395 to take a leak.  If you know I-395, it is predominantly concrete in that area…no grassy patches!

Dog afraid of grass:  Speaking of grassy patches, while walking on Massachusettes Avenue, I encountered a young lady taking her tiny daschund for a walk.  There were so many people on the sidewalk, so she was trying to steer her dog onto the grass.  Her dog refused!  She kept yelling at the dog telling her it was okay to be on the grass, but no budge.  Now that’s a city dog for ya!

No luck in asking anyone for directions:  Every time I go to D.C., I am convinced that not even police know where anything is.  This is the second time we asked police for directions around the Smithsonian (keep in mind we were asking for directions for buildings in the direct vicinity of where the cop was standing) and had no luck.

Beautiful people in D.C.:  There are some good looking people in D.C.  I don’t know if it is because they are wearing designer gear and can afford chic haircuts, but people look generally fit and good lookin’…any thoughts on why?

DSCN0050Food is awesome!:  I posted pics under Foodie Adventures, but there is so much to choose from in this melting pot of a city.  Everything tasted so good too. 

Buildings are pretty in D.C.:  All the buildings, museums, memorials, monuments are so majestically awesome.  However, I had to include a pic of this building…it’s the Hamilton Crowne Plaza.  I had to take a picture of it simply because it reminded me of the Tipton Hotel on Suite Life of Zach and Cody…I know.  I’m corny.

DSC_0161

National conferences Rock!:  Okay, this is not a strictly D.C. thing, but I love national conferences.  Aside from all the “swag” I got from the conference, my kids were excited because I got to see the new Electric Company from PBS speak and perform.

DSC_0145DSCN0036b

Got to participate in a photo shoot:  Again, not a D.C. thing, but I got the opportunity to get photographed for ISTE’s marketing materials.  After the shoot, I was reminded of an episode of 30 Rock where Liz and Jenna go on a cover photo shoot and they took the “worst” shot to be the cover!  Looking at the photos below (don’t ask me why I was asked to do those poses), can you understand my concern?  heaeha! 

DSC_0155

 

 

 

 

 

DSC_0156

 

 

 

 

 

So thats just a very brief wrap up of the more notable D.C. observations.  Off to my next adventure =)

Leave a Reply

