Flax seed…good for skin…decreases hot flashes!

Just wanted to drop this tidbit I love flax seed for.  Sprinkling it in oatmeal, mashed potatoes, batter for frying, pancakes, etc. has helped my toddler’s eczema.  Although it isn’t completely gone, her skin has been less severely dry and itchy.  She thinks now there is a lot of “dirt” in her food, but I tell her its “sugar”!  ehahea!  My coworkers also say it is a must for hot flashes.  One coworker forgot her pack of flax seed on a weekend vacation trip an she said it was absolutely unbearable.  I got my pack at Target near the vitamins, but I’ve also found it in health food stores and the organic section of some local grocery stores. 

5 thoughts on “Flax seed…good for skin…decreases hot flashes!

  1. I am 46 years old, and still get my period, though it is very light. I actually have two questions. First, I have switched from Yasmin to Yaz, and find that I have almost no period now….I think my doctor thought I should switch to it because I was having difficulty losing weight. So, my question is, has anyone here tried Yaz and encountered the same results…little to no period at all.

    Secondly, I become very sweaty in the morning, when I wake up. I don’t get night sweats, I get morning sweats! I have severely decreased my exercise lately, and have gained weight (stress eater, due to losing my job…I know I need to lose a LOT of weight). However, I have never had this problem before, and I really don’t know if it’s my thyroid or something else. I’ve been a little nervous in the morning before (e.g., before a job interview), but NEVER to the extent of sweating, as I do now. And now, I am only temping. My biggest stress is not being able to find a decent full-time job, which has led me to take anti-depressants. I’ve been on Lexapro for about two years, but the extreme morning sweats have been happening for about 5 months or so. Any thoughts? I really don’t think it’s menopause, and I do want to get my thyroid checked out. Any other suggestions?

  2. Great summary. There is also a great product that combines milled flax seed with the high potency hull lignans. All natural and cold-milled it can be stored for a long time, and like the stuff you get at the health food store you can bake with it, sprinkle it, add it into smoothies. I get about four or five immediate benefits from it that I can notice daily. The stuff I get is rejuv. I put the url above, but just in case here it is again.
    http://www.rejuvnow.com

    It’s better than fish oil and is grown and produced here in the midwest.
    Great site DD.

Leave a Reply

